Stephen Foster

Folk Culture Center

Situated on the banks of the legendary Suwannee River, this center honors the memory of American composer Stephen Foster, who wrote "Old Folks at Home," the song that made the river famous.

In 1931 Josiah K. Lilly, the son of Indiana pharmaceutical manufacturer Eli K. Lilly, suggested a memorial to composer Stephen Foster, whose song "Old Folks at Home" made the Suwannee River known all over the world. The Florida Federation of Music Clubs adopted his idea and obtained contributions of land in White Springs, Florida. The Stephen Foster Memorial Commission administered the development of the park, which opened in 1950. In 1935, "Old Folks at Home" was designated as Florida’s official state song. Stephen Collins Foster, born in 1826, composed more than 200 songs during his lifetime.

In the early days of Stephen Foster Folk Culture Center, visitors rode on replica paddle steamers up and down the Suwannee River. The boats were named the Belle of the Suwannee and the Glendy Burke.

Other influential people include Lillian Saunders, who worked hard to help acquire the first 100 acres of land for the Stephen Foster Memorial. "Cousin" Thelma Boltin was considered the first lady of the Florida Folk Festival, directing the annual celebration for more than 20 years. The first Florida Folk Festival was held in 1953. The Florida Folk Festival has become the longest running state folk festival in the United States, taking place each year during Memorial Day weekend. Many well-known musicians have performed here, including Floridians Gamble Rogers and Will McLean. Artisans, musicians and storytellers share their crafts with festival-goers each May.


Known as "Florida's First Tourist Attraction." In the 1700s, White Sulphur Spring, a second-magnitude spring located within the park, was regarded as sacred ground for American Indians because the water was believed to hold curative powers. Located on the banks of the Suwannee River, the spring was promoted as a health resort from the mid-1800s through the 1950s. Shops, dressing rooms and clinical examination rooms were built as part of a bath or springhouse beside the spring, which was enclosed by a concrete wall. Some of the spring’s famous visitors included Teddy Roosevelt and Henry Ford. Today, the original concrete wall and gate, located near the park entrance, are all that remain of this once popular resort. 



The museum features exhibits about Foster's most famous songs, and his music can be heard emanating from the park's 97-bell carillon throughout the day.

In Craft Square, visitors can watch demonstrations of quilting, blacksmithing, stained glass making and other crafts, or visit the gift shop. Hiking, bicycling, canoeing and wildlife viewing are popular activities. Miles of trails wind through some of the most scenic areas of North Florida.

Overnight visitors can stay in the full-facility campground or in a cabin.

Every Memorial Day weekend (last weekend in May), the park hosts the Florida Folk Festival. Other special events include concerts, weekend retreats, a regional quilt show, a holiday light display and an antique tractor show.

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.